So It Continues

I am still wrestling with the issues mentioned in my Jan 1 blog. Not surprising really as it is a feature of art!
I have been researching and seeking guidance on my practice in particular developing strands/bodies of work rather than individual pieces.
I have such strands running but a spectator of my work needs to be aware of this. How to make the spectator (better still involved viewer) aware of this? Again the danger is to be clunky!
I’ve been pointed towards artists such as Charles Avery and William Kentridge in terms of getting the narrative across. Avery has invented an island with interesting inhabitants!! Kentridge commented on apartheid in his native South Africa with a combination of charcoal/animated film/printing/stories with his own developed characters. He continues in these media today although the context has changed somewhat. Both have generated a substantial body of work – Avery around his island, Kentridge more around his processes with a wider choice of subject/context. I guess I am drawn to Kentridge’s charcoal/print basis.
I’ll keep looking at photographers such as Roger Palmer and TJ Cooper, both of whom set up a body of work based on self -prescribed situations. Palmer has worked along geographic lines longitude, latitude-
Zonnebloem, 2005

zonnebloem04

Cooper on continental/land mass edges.
Magical moment’ … Thomas Joshua Cooper’s best shot – Senegal

best tj cooper

They then photographed what they found and, in Palmers case, compared the sites along the geographic lines. I found both these bodies of work to my taste. Tillmans work is interesting but then I’m an antediluvian!
When it comes to the Blasket Isles as per my blog, I have over time researched somewhat and, when I visited in 2007, spent a good deal of time in the Blasket Centre (see photo in Jan 1 blog). The whole place is haunting – cataloguing the death of a community (or even a culture).Fascinating and sad more so with the islands in full view.
http://www.discoverireland.ie/Arts-Culture-Heritage/the-blasket-centre-ionad-an-bhlascaoid/381
I sought something to capture the feeling and there were loads of the “chocolate box” Ireland videos on the internet with the typical soundtracks. The one, so far, that seems to me to come closest for me is-

if you watch the interview with the three brothers that starts 4 minutes in!
Mind you, I still need to figure out how I would get the narrative across –maybe go back, go to the islands and capture the images.
In my artist statement, I talk about man and his impact on the landscape. Maybe it’s more specific than that –it’s what is left after man has abandoned a landscape.

This entry was posted in creative process, interesting artists, photo images, weekly word and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So It Continues

  1. Amedar says:

    I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

