Is It That Time Already

When the UK was hit by the previous snowfall, I nipped up to the Lakes to fulfill a task I had set myself some years ago.

One snowy winter’s day as a schoolboy,out  with my first camera, I took a contre jour picture of a lonely group of conifers near School Knott tarn. As I was even then into photography, I was able, via school, to develope and print the image myself. I have kept the photograph with me for the past 53 years (approx.) as a little bit of the Lakes throughout my wanderings.

Trees School Knott c 1960

Trees School Knott c 1960

I set myself the task of retaking the picture in similar conditions if the oppertunity could be created. As it is a marvellous short walk round School Knott, I have often visited the scene when in the Lakes and considered the state of the trees. The inevitable thoughts have not escaped me.

So finally, I received the word that the hill had snow and set off to recapture what was left! Time has not been too kind to the trees.

The results of the B&W film have yet to come back for enlarging but the digital images seem to have captured some of the mood.

Trees School Knott 2013

Trees School Knott 2013

Trees 2 School Knott 2013

Trees 2 School Knott 2013

This entry was posted in creative process, photo images, weekly word and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

